Christmas in Cleveland, 1995

In 6th grade the year was 1995. I was given an assignment to write a Christmas story. Though now I’m an atheist, I can appreciate where I was trying to go with this. I lived in Cleveland, off Harvard and Broadway. Most households on my block and within a 10- mile radius of it were lower-middle to poverty- socioeconomic class. My father worked at Honeywell as a dispatcher from 5am until 4:30 pm every day of the week, and even some weekends and holidays. We were JUST able to live comfortably with a little help here and there from my grandfather.

That is much as I will say about the background of this 12 year old budding writer. Here’s the story scanned, as is. (I typed it on my dad’s typewriter, and illustrated the cover myself)

cover-for-story

story-page-1

story-page-2

 

Leave a Reply

