autistic women, motherhood and friendship

I hope to connect with other autistic parents. So far I am feeling like the last unicorn

Briannon Lee

I became a mother not knowing I was autistic. Surprisingly, it was the first time I  was truly aware of how different I am to neurotypical women.

In my 20s, I moved cities and left behind high-school friendships. I made choices to work and build friendships in social justice communities. By day I could work with passionate people who shared my interests, and in the evening I could come home to my partner (also an autistic woman) who respected my needs for downtime.

We bought a house, got a puppy, and then I was pregnant. We had a beautiful child. I was on maternity leave. Those early days were so achingly beautiful, and so damn hard.

I was lonely. Oh my gosh I was lonely. And lost.

My love for my work and my friendships based on work interests were gone. My days were filled with parenting tasks that put…

View original post 774 more words

Leave a Reply

